

Palliser District Teachers' Convention Association

Minutes Hi-lights for All Teachers November 2014

Website: <u>www.palliserconvention.org</u> Convention 2015 – February 19, 20, 2015

> 2015 Convention theme:



Alternate Professional Development: Application deadline: January 10, 2015
 See website for criteria and online form.

Featured Speakers Thursday

- Michelle Cederberg Energized for Excellence in Education
- Dr. Alex Russell: Helping Kids Thrive in Anxious Times
- Dr. Ed Dixon: Helping Boys Learn: 6 Secrets for Helping Boys in the Classroom
- Eva Olsson (Holocaust Survivor): A Legacy of Caring compassion and Character
- Featured Speakers Friday
 - o <u>The Robb Nash Project</u>: Rediscovering Your Why
 - o Dylan William:
 - o Mark Ramsankar: ATA President
- PDTCA Website: have full session descriptions and is the most up to date source of information. No at a glance sheets this year.
- Wristbands for Admittance: All delegates will receive a wristband for convention entrance in January.
- > Off Site Sessions: 20 new off site sessions. Check the website for details.
- > Pension Interviews: the link on our website will open on December 2, 2014.
- Musical Group/Band:
 - Chinooks' Edge local Sundre High School Ms. Tracy Wilson
 McLeod Hall
 - Chinook local Notre Dame Collegiate Mr. Joel Windsor
 Hyatt Ballroom
 - Canadian Rockies local Lawrence Grassi Middle School Jazz Ms. Lisa Murphy
 - Exhibition Hall E

Hotel Room Rates for 2015 – 50% booked

- o Hyatt: Single/Double \$205.00, Triple \$240.00, Quad \$275.00
- Palliser Hotel: Single/Double \$215.00 (+30 for each additional person.)
- large deluxe \$275.00, Junior Suite \$295.00, 1 Bedroom Suite \$315.00
 Booking Hotel Rooms:
 - Hyatt Hotel: 717-1234

Palliser Hotel: 262-1234

> Honorary President for Convention 2015

- Lianne Enderton retired teacher from Rocky View School Division see website for more information on Lianne Enderton.
- Questions??? Try the frequently asked questions link on the website, or contact a convention representative from your local. See the website for board member names.